0
Skip to main content

August and September 1997 Live Reviews

August

Live Show reviews from August 1997 including, OBLIVIONS, REVOLATORS, RED MAX, MERCY RULE, OPIUM TAYLOR, GOING TO GRANDMA'S, GLUE GUN, APOCALYPSE HOBOKEN, PROP 13, BLEED & THE HAVE NOTS


 

Oblivions - 8/8/97 

AUGUST 8th, 1997

OBLIVIONS

21 & over@ Safari Nite Club

 

I don't remember who opened this show but that's cause it was over a year ago and it's lost. I remember the Oblivians but then again who could forget them. Crypt was in town with all it's fuze and no bass. They killed us with a big musical stick and showmanship. They' have a southern no teeth, trailer park way to their music that proves that even hicks can play punk. Oh and do it so well.


 

Revolaters - 8/15/97

AUGUST 15th, 1997

REVOLATERS

& RED MAX

21 & OVER@ Safari Nite Club

 

Red Max hails from Lincoln and have a punk-a-billie, hot rod lincoln sound that makes you long for drag strip hot dogs. Not much new here just solid straight ahead music without the fancy unneeded stuff.

 

The Revolators are from Springfield I believe and carry that gritty crypt flag. No bass load and on the verge of spinning off the stage. You know Rock and Roll is suppose to be dangerous and these guys are just that dangerous.


 

Mercy Rule - 8/21/97 

AUGUST 21st, 1997

MERCY RULE

OPIUM TAYLOR

& GOING TO GRANDMA'S

21 & OVER @ Safari Nite Club

 

Going to Grandma's is a local band that has been kicking around for a few years that really has never done a thing for me. They're nice guys but it comes down to taste and there's just too little of something or too much of something else but it just doesn't work for me.

 

The thing that comes to mind with Opium Taylor is soundtrack to a very painful nervious breakdown. A raw nakedness that at times is too painful to watch. It makes you uncomfortable and challenges you. It's not simple entertainment and that really doesn't sell a crowd but then look at Jesus Lizzard.

 

I remember the first night I saw Mercy Rule, it was back in 93 and my friend Gil's band Wayback Machine was openning for them at Hairy Mary's. They hit the stage with these lights shinning straight up into their face like a flash light under the chin. They put me in the mind of some of the direction that Naked Raygun played with. Guitar rhythms driving the soft female vocals through a ride of destruction. They have this way of being out of control and then bringing it back down to the softness of good sex. They match the lyrics to the music or maybe the other way around while the guitarist destroys his tools.


 

Glue Gun / Apocalyspe Hoboken - 8/30/97 

AUGUST 30th, 1997

GLUE GUN

APOCALYSPE HOBOKEN

BLEED

PROP 13

& THE HAVE NOTS

21 & Over @ Safari Nite Club

 

I didn't know we were playing this one until around 8pm. We did a good job and that half an hour went quick. This was the first gig after Greg got back in. Not bad but it didn't really burn like it should have.

 

Prop 13 are a tight OC kinda band. Good hocks but nothing really to write home about. In other words I didn't feel the spirit.

 

I'm not sure on the order but I think Glue Gun played next. They have a full on Wasted Youth sound. Rough bad ass music that's like being beat to death in a slaughterhouse. I had seen them before but due to line-up changes the whole stage show was gone. NO cow heads or flashing lights but still a great show.

 

This was AH second show at the club. The thing that strikes me is how much people just don't seem to get this band. They left me broke and hungry like always.

 

I guess that brings us to Bleed From Milwaukee aka beer city. They're another band that can't seem to find a peg to fit into. I guess you could call it Phyco-billie but that's kinda not giving them the credit they need. There's a little Elvis mated with Greoge Threllgood. Really laid back guys that just become almost god like on stage. I can see a lot of greatness coming if they can just get someone to notice. Plus the drummer plays standing up.


September

September 1997 Live Reviews including: THE URGE, REEL BIG FISH, THE AQUABATS, MOG STUNT TEAM, SLIPKNOT, THE TEENAGE FRAMES, THE LADONNA'S, THE LOADMONTHS, THE FORGOTTEN BOYS, THE HAVE NOTS, VALENTINE 6, ROCKET FUELS THE KEY & NASHVILLE PUSSY @ GABE'S


 

The Urge - 9/7/97 

SEPTEMBER 7th,1997

THE URGE

ALL AGES@ Safari Nite Club

 

This show almost didn't happen due to the fact that doing the Urge two days before Reel Big Fish (which at the time had a top 10 hit) and the fact that they wanted a large guarantee. After a little of the old deal making and a call from Sophia, a percentage deal was set. The fact of the matter is that the band did better money wise then they would have with the guarantee they wanted. Makes you wonder why more booking agents and bands are unwilling to give percentage deals in untried markets a chance.

 

I can't for the life of me remember who openned this show but due in part to the fact that Reel Big Fish was sold out, the turn out was really good. We had well over 300 people. For those of you that haven't heard the Urge they have a 311 feel to them. A cross between metal, ska and rap. There's a groove feel to them that sends the message home but they're one of those bands that constantly gain and then lose your attention.


 

Reel Big Fish - 9/9/97 

SEPTEMBER 9th, 1997

REEL BIG FISH,

THE AQUABATS

& KARA'S FLOWERS

ALL AGES@ Safari Nite Club

 

By far the biggest show we have had since Social Distortion. It sold out 2 weeks before the show and the kids were busting at the seams to see these guys. A different event. Unlike Socail Distortion things went real smooth and we had our thing together.

 

I for the life of me can't remember much of the first band but I remember them being a kinda rock group that seemed to be on the bill to gain a following.

 

Next up was the Aquabats and their surf ska thing. I found the music to be forgetable but the stage show fun and entertaining. You've got to wonder when a bands main selling point isn't their music but the fact they wear funny costumes and shoot off fire crackers. Maybe I'm just too much of a purest.

 

Reel Big Fish hit the stage like a freight train and drove the rudes into there skankin' line dancing frenzie. They played for close to an hour and did all their hits and a few more. Too be truthful by this time I was really growing tried of the whole ska scene.

 

After the show we headed out with a few of the members of Reel Big Fish and hit the Viking Lounge to do Karaoke. I found it a little surreal to watch these guys with a hit record sing along to the machine and no one outside of our group knowing who they were. We left and hit the slots at Prarie Meadows. I lost money along with everyone else but everyone had a good time and still another band left our fair city wishing to return.


 

Mog Stunt Team / Slipknot - 9/12/97 

SEPTEMBER 12th, 1997

MOG STUNT TEAM

SLIPKNOT

All Ages @ Safari Nite Club

 

OK first off the Mog is no longer with us which is really too bad. They're one of those bands that can't be replaced. This was their second time back to Des Moines but their first time playing the club. You see the last time they came through the plumbing got screwed up and flooded the bar with a few inches of raw sewage. They blamed it on an alien that had been following them throughout the tour and vowed to return with a "Fuck the Greys".

 

SlipKnot was up first and it was the first time I have seen them with their new lineup with Cory on Vocals. They did a good set of their own brand and trademark Metal meets insanity. They pulled no punches and gave the kids what they wanted. The surprise of the night was that Andy announced he would be leaving the band. No one, including the band had any knowledge of this. It was sad for everyone involved but time marches on.

 

Mog came on with a fireworks shooting guitar and jumped into their style of hard and heavy. Won the crowd and did a few of their patterned debunking effects. Music aside, they were a cross of Art Bell and a homeless man with tin foil on his head, telling you his abduction story. Well worth the money.


 

Teenage Frames / Lodonna's - 9/13/97 

SEPTEMBER 13TH, 1997

THE TEENAGE FRAMES

THE LADONNA'S

21 & OVER @ Safari Nite Club

 

When I got to the club everything was a mess and the local bands were still pluging away and even though most of the bands on any other night would have been at least fun, that night they were driving me nuts.

 

The Ladonna's came on and made everything OK. They have that raw R-N-R garage sound that puts you in the mind of the many Crypt bands. All the fun of a Roller Coaster ride and a fireworks display. The crowd seemed a little confused and burnt but they still played their big hearts out.

 

I got the Demo CD from the Frames and to tell the truth really didn't feel the vibe but when they hit the stage it all clicked. Like listening to the Jam after not hearing them for a few years. These guys are just too hip for their own good. I knew from the minute they did Who's got the Action that I'd picked the right horse and he was dancing and hopping his way across the finish line first. There are bands that pass your time and then there's bands that you don't want to stop, without a doubt The Teenage Frames are a band that you never want to stop. It's as rare as a virgin in a Sorority house.


 

Valentine 6 / Nashville Pussy - 9/28/97 

SEPTEMBER 28th, 1997

VALENTINE 6

ROCKET FUELS THE KEY

ALL AGES @ Safari Nite Club

 

& NASHVILLE PUSSY @ GABES IN IOWA CITY

 

This was the second and last time for the Valentine 6. I've lost track of them. Hey Lily, Parker, Oliver, Cash Corsano or anyone related to them, call or write damn it.

 

Rocket Fuels the Key was up first with their noisey unescapable sound. They were (broke up) a three piece from KC with that kinda Emo/Noise sound. Two things stick out about this band: #1 they are loud as fuck and #2 they can write a simple riff that once it leaks into your brain you'll never get out.

 

I've already reviewed Val before but I can't really put into words just what this band makes you feel. From making my hair stand on end to feeling like you are sucked into a David Lynch film. They do that Voodoo like no one else can.

 

I've always been a fan of three band bills so as soon as I heard that Nashville Pussy was playing IC that night Paul, Jessica and I loaded into the car and headed at 80 MPH to IC. We got there just in time to catch the end of some band I never caught the name of. They really didn't do a hell of a lot for me. We hung with a few of the Des Moines people that came down and Striker (NP) out front and then went up to start hitting the Guinness. I have to say it (even though I'm biting my tongue all the way through) but I hate Gabe's. Not only is it a dump but the crowd normally sucks. NP hit the stage with all the gentleness of a train wreck and rocked us all. Even with the low turn out there was plenty of boys to oggle Cory and Striker making out. Cory breathed fire and left us all wanting more. After the show we hung with Cory and caught up. Regardless of all the shit flying around about these guys. They still are kickass people. Difinitely a good night of music.

Mon, 10/17/2016 - 21:52
DaVo